Re: How far do we go?

soolinehistory <destorzek@...>

--- In STMFC@..., Andy Carlson wrote:

Concerning the code 88/110 compatibility with switch work... This is where the sharp point of the frog makes a difference, as the tip of the point
extends out just a bit more than a blunt frog, enough to catch the semi-scale wheel tread.
You have discovered the main problem with commercial track... blunt frog points. The prototype specifies the point of the frog at 1/2" wide... that's .0055" in HO scale. Most commercial track is something more like .015" or .020". Surprisingly, the NMRA track standards have never put a limit on this dimension, which is a glaring omission.

I have been making some switches for several months using the Fast Tracks turnout assembly fixtures, and with careful construction, I don't even hear the metal wheels click upon passing through the frog. I can not see me ever using commercial switches in the future.

Jack Parker showed me many years ago that track work can be made to work flawlessly for both code 88 and code 110 wheel equipped equipment.
The limit for wheel width is that it has to be wider than 2X the flangeway plus the frog point. Since the minimum frog flangeway in NMRA S-3.2 is .036", 2(.036)+.006 =.078, leaving .010" for tolerance and gauge widening before the wheels drop, so it can indeed work, at least for locomotives with two axle trucks. The reason the NMRA is never going to adopt this as standard is it won't work for various combinations of long wheelbase locomotives, tight curves, and short turnouts that the hobby has come to expect as the norm. There is nothing wrong with building to standards "tighter" than the norm; you just have to realize what you can't expect to do.