Re: 3D printing challenges etc.

Dennis Storzek

--- In STMFC@yahoogroups.com, "Rob Kirkham" wrote:

yes - but if using Sketchup to scale the drawing to HO, you can also run
into the 6 decimal place rounding problem if you are not careful. Dividing
most large numbers by 87.1 seldom produces neat 6 (or fewer) digit
quotients. Using other software to scale a full size drawing allows one to
get around that problem. But drawing with the rounding problem in mind
from the get-go is also worth some effort.

Rob Kirkham
I think Rob's problem lies elsewhere.

Let me preface this comment with the confession that I am by no means an expert on Sketchup... In fact, I've never used the software, and all I know I've learned from poking around in their help files and discussion lists, looking for answers to Rob's questions.

That said, the problem lies not in what scale the object is drawn in, or how many decimal places entered points are calculated to. If one were to draw the gusseted end of a hat section brace as a portion of an ellipse, or a NURBS curve, extrude that profile to give it some thickness, lay it over modeled sheathing with V groove edges, and preform the Boolean union operation to attempt to make them one solid, the software is going to preform all kinds of calculations to the limit of its precision, no matter if the original data was entered to three place precision, two place precision, or limited to whole numbers.