Re: Sunshine resale values..Now tools

Nelson Moyer <ku0a@...>

I've had a lot of experience drilling aluminum, and very slow speed and a very sharp bit
works best. A medium weight oil reduces heat. At the proper speed, the shavings will curl in a spiral. If you get small chips, you're drilling to fast. Avoid excessive pressure, and let the bit do the work. Other metals have different properties, requiring different techniques. Maybe a machinist out there will write an article on drilling various metals we use in the hobby.

I find the same approach sans oil works for resin when using a pin vise. CB&Q single sheathed cars have grab iron ladders, and I've drilled several thousand holes using a pin vise and a #79 bit. I use a sharp needle to make a pilot hole, and I have much better control of hole placement then I do with a drill press, mostly because I use an Optivisor when drilling. I use my drill press at medium speed for #50 holes to tap for trucks and couplers and for other less critical purposes. The curl tells me when the speed is right. Drilling resin at high speed will melt it into the bit, and you will have to use laquer thinner to clean the bit. I make far fewer drilling errors with a pin vise, and the time differential for me is insignificant.

Nelson Moyer

On Mar 5, 2014, at 7:16 PM, Tim O'Connor <timboconnor@comcast.net> wrote:

Denny it's been my experience that higher RPM's (and SHARP drills)
in plastic work very well with a drill press, because you can do a
quick down-and-up move and there is no time for the material to heat
up and melt onto the drill. You can drill with very low RPM's and
that will prevent heating (because the heat disappates), but it will
also take a lot longer to make holes.

Tim O'Connor