Re: CAD library

Dave Nelson

I’ve been doing 3D Cad for rail sims for almost 10 years now, starting from complete ignorance to being quite proficient in Sketchup.   I have a library of components that I often reach for so I think I might have something useful to contribute to this discussion:

First, You do need to know about manufacturing tolerances but don’t get hung up on how the components in the library will become physical objects in your hands.  Shapeways is here today but tomorrow there might be three other superior service companies, each of whom do things differently.   Given that, my recommendation is the 3D models should be done 12 inches to the foot and cataloged in your library as such.  When somebody wants a model, they get a copy and make any and all adjustments for scale and manufacturability then.  If that modified model goes back into the library it should do so as having been scaled and/or modified for manufacturability by XYZ Company.

Second, experience will show only a few things can be reused w/o further adjustments.  Consider your basic Z bar used on STMFC: It’s a standard profile but not a standard length.  Actual length and where the holes get drilled for those standard sized carriage bolts will vary from car to car and so it’s better for the master model to be a very short Z Bar and expect all individual modelers to stretch it out to and apply those bolts to be correct for the one car.  Really now, what’s the use of cataloging a 9ft, 10.5” Z bar w/ bolts when what you want is 9.25 inches shorter?  The same thing is true for car ends – you need the corner done right, the transition from the corner to the standard corrugation done right… but the length of the standard corrugation is specific to the width of the car, right?  So the end user should do that last step.  Ditto for door corrugations.  The same issue applies to car roofs only it is the slope that needs to be set by the final modeler as slope depends on the width of the car.