Re: Photo: SP Transformer Train (1937)

Bob Chaparro

Transformers

Doug Auburg commented:

I’m not an expert on the cars but after working for an electrical utility for 30 years I can offer some insights on utility practices.

Transformers are shipped w/o oil to minimize their weight.  I don’t know how much these transformers from 80-plus years ago weighed but these days they weigh upwards of 300,000 pounds (or 300 tons – I can’t remember which), so any weight reduction they can achieve during shipping is a benefit.  Now days they are dried and blanketed with nitrogen.  Moisture is the enemy of transformer internals so every step is taken to keep moisture out.

So the tank cars in the train are most likely there containing transformer oil.

The cart is interesting as I’ve not seen them used in remote substations in the utility I worked for though they may have been.  My employer had a cart at its servicing facilities (called untanking towers) where the transformer’s internals are lifted out to inspect and repair.  Anyway, these carts are used to move the transformer around and minimize the number of times that riggers have to move it on cribbing.  The transformers are too heavy to be lifted by a portable crane (especially in 1937).  Fortunately, SCE had a fixed crane to transfer the transformer from the flat car to the cart.  But they would use a rigging crew, cribbing and hydraulic jacks to move the transformers off of the cart and onto the substation’s concrete pad.  In this case they apparently didn’t have a cart at this substation but they did have tracks in place so they shipped a cart along with the transformers and will return it to its storage location once they are in place.