PC based databases for inventory - my custom database

Jeff Lodge <cvfanbratt@...>

As a database programmer, I happen to like databases for this job. Excel is a great tool for someone who just needs to get a list developed and do some simple sorting/grouping/summing. However, the calculations I am doing make a spreadsheet rather underpowered for the task. I have written my tool in MS Access 97.

It includes not only my inventory, desired models and all kinds of other stuff (structures, vehicles, control equipment) but it is where I am performing my car list analysis. So far I have close to 5000 actual cars from the month of September 1955 going North on all CV Freights out of White River Junction, VT. (For anyone who received a copy of that list, I have since double checked it and corrected the unbelievable amount or errors in it...)

Now I am entering data from ORERs and other information to set the parameters for a road's car number series like:
Road: CN
Car type: Box
High number:485199
Low number:484100
Descript: 40' SS, 6' Young dr, 9' 4" IH, Dreaded-Dreadnot-Whatnot ends, Carmel Coated Cut levers, blah, blah
Kit: Westerfield 1001
(OK guys, I just made all that data up, so don't start sending the flames my way just yet!..)

By doing the above, the program can now automatically assign the car list items to a specific car type so I know what kits I need. In other words, if a box from CN shows up with the number 484305 on the list, it will be assigned to the above mentioned car type - all without me having to do any thinking - which I only do as a last resort in any situation.

I can get percentages of cars by train number, by day of week, from month-to-month, north vs. south. All kinds of stuff that would be hard to crunch in Excel. As I enter more car list information and more ORER information, I don't have to change anything to perform the same calculations.