Re: new business model for Bob

Bob Webber <no17@...>

I have some knowledge of his business, but even at that it is a scrape in the barrel. I've helped him move his collections at a few shows in and out of the van to and from his tables, and helped him at his table now and then. That and some normal conversation has led me to the following response to an Internet site anytime soon.

GFL. What you see at (most) shows is less than a quarter of his collection. He had more at Gaithersburg this past weekend than he had at Naperville (shorter trip=more books). It was still not a quarter of the printed shots. The only place where most of the printed shots are to be found is at the Springfield, MA show in February. BUT, that is not his entire collection either. At any given time he has thousands of negatives he needs to get printed - and due to time or money he can't (or, better put, won't - he COULD, but his business sense won't let him). He purchased at least 2 new collections this year of over 30,000 negatives. That's in addition to the well over 100K negatives he already owned and over 10K he has access to. That does not include the slides. (And bare in mind these are estimates that are more than likely on the low side). Now, as one who has scanned my photos which is less than 5K, and some slides (less than 100 of 5K) I can tell you it is a back breaking and a boring job. Not to mention one that takes some time to get right. I know we are talking low-res thumbnails here 0 but -are willing to buy a clear photo based on a fuzzy scan? I didn't think so.