Keep those paint blisters!

gary laakso

This is a picture of what appears to be a double sheathed boxcar with many, many paint blisters:

https://donstrack.smugmug.com/UtahRails/Emil-Albrecht-Photos/1947-Aug-Ogden/i-HFg8cLH/A 

Gary Laakso

Northwest of Mike Brock

Bill Vaughn

It's a reefer.

Bill Vaughn

Dennis Storzek

"It's a reefer."

Most likely a Mather reefer, note the steel posts showing below the wood siding, and the round rod sill step, a sure Mather spotting feature.

Dennis Storzek

rwitt_2000

I am not an expert, but since this is a photo of a moving train and I believe some of what appear as "blisters" are artifacts of motion or from scanning the negative.

The next view has a B&O M-53 box car and the door has strange features I believe to be rivets.

Bob Witt

Bruce Smith

​Bob,

The blisters are pretty clearly real paint blisters. Having no small amount of experience with both paint and photography, I don't think that these are  a photographic artifact.

As for the "rivets" on the M-53 door, I do not believe that they are rivets as I believe that they are recesses as deduced from the shadow pattern. They may be tack welds to the interior structure of the door showing because the door has been pushed out (note that the bumps to the right of the door in the car sheathing are also not rivets, but impacts from something internal, making me think that this car has had some lading motion issues in the past). An alternative explanation is that this car may have been one with a door that did have rivets horizontally across the door (some did as seen in RPCyc #9) and that the rivets have been removed, but I favor my 1st explanation.

Regards,

Bruce 

Bruce Smith

Auburn AL

From: RealSTMFC@groups.io <RealSTMFC@groups.io> on behalf of rwitt_2000 via Groups.Io <rwitt_2000@...>
Sent: Saturday, April 21, 2018 10:18 PM
To: RealSTMFC@groups.io
Subject: Re: [RealSTMFC] Keep those paint blisters!