Topics

Photo: UTLX 81014

Bob Chaparro

A photo with very good resolution of tank car UTLX 81014 from the University of Kentucky Digital Archives:

http://kdl.kyvl.org/catalog/xt702v2c8t1s_2661_1 (Loads Slow)

This photo can be enlarged quite a bit.

Caption: "Mr. Bond; railroad freight car, Sistrunk,, 1934".

I'm no expert on tank cars but the hatches on the domes and car body seem different from those on conventional tank cars. Yes? No?

Bob Chaparro

Hemet, CA

Dave Parker

As per Steve Hile's book, it's an "experimental dry hopper car".  One of a group of 16, originally a conventional Class V car. 

Dave Parker
Riverside, CA

Bruce Smith

Interesting photo. In addition to this experimental dry hopper conversion, there is a very early covered hopper, reefers from PFE, MDT and FGE and maybe UTX/MILW, as well as all the other neat activity.

Regards

Bruce

Bruce F. Smith

Auburn, AL

"Some days you are the bug, some days you are the windshield."

On Dec 5, 2018, at 11:38 AM, Bob Chaparro <chiefbobbb@verizon.net<mailto:chiefbobbb@verizon.net>> wrote:

A photo with very good resolution of tank car UTLX 81014 from the University of Kentucky Digital Archives:
http://kdl.kyvl.org/catalog/xt702v2c8t1s_2661_1 (Loads Slow)
This photo can be enlarged quite a bit.
Caption: "Mr. Bond; railroad freight car, Sistrunk,, 1934".
I'm no expert on tank cars but the hatches on the domes and car body seem different from those on conventional tank cars. Yes? No?
Bob Chaparro
Hemet, CA

David

We've discussed the UTLX car before. The covered hopper looks to me like a B&O N-13 from the end.

https://imgur.com/a/FezS97k

David Thompson

rwitt_2000

On Wed, Dec 5, 2018 at 03:31 PM, David wrote:
The covered hopper looks to me like a B&O N-13 from the end.

https://imgur.com/a/FezS97k
David,

Yes it does. The covered hopper versions were B&O class N-25.

Also notice small volume of the gravel loads in the twin hoppers.

Bob Witt

Steve and Barb Hile